Kitchen Chandelier

After my first chandelier I learned a lot, especially where I wanted the crystals to go.  A disclaimer: use glass crystals if you are hanging them close to the light bulbs as it keeps them from heating up.

This all starts with my kitchen renovation.  Mr. Wonderful said I was on my own.  Which meant all the sanding, all of the primer, all of the painting.  He did however drill holes into the cupboards for the new hardware…he doesn’t trust me with power tools.  He doesn’t know that I use the drill all the time…

I love the layout of the kitchen…but the builder grade cabinets weren’t to my taste.

IMG_1984

See? Blah. This is after I painted the wall a nice French Grey.  It’s such a calm cool color.  I was on my own for the painting too, but I finished during Little Miss Owl’s nap.  Score one for Mom.

And then after a whole week of utter upheaval in the kitchen…

IMG_2011

Half of the cabinets are done…see the doors on the counter? And the ugly paper towel holder underneath the far cabinets (the perfect place for hanging wine glasses).  But its getting better.

And then another week…I had a hard time.  As much as I like projects I like order a lot better.  And you can’t really get away from the utter mess in the kitchen.

IMG_2151

And then all of a sudden it was finished.  Hurray to Mr. Wonderful and my FIL for the bead board backsplash and the bead board all around the bar area. And then you look up to the light fixture in the kitchen.  The long hideous thing that looks like it belongs in a warehouse.

And then…the trip to the Habitat for Humanity ReStore.  Where I found this beauty.  $35.

IMG_2139

All the different light bulbs…and then look…one of Little Miss Owl’s books underneath.  The life of a mom.  So off come the light bulbs along with the shades.  It already looked better.  Trust me.

IMG_2140

So after a coat of primer…looking much better. And then I bought gloss spray paint.  One of my best decisions. And then to Home Depot for a ceiling medallion, which made a world of difference.

IMG_2142

After taking out the screws that held in the shades I realized that they made the perfect place to attach the crystals.  And then there’s my other genius moment with the great dangling crystal in the center…lovely.

And then with more help from Mr. Wonderful and FIL with MIL entertaining Little Miss Owl…

IMG_2167

This happened.

IMG_2168

Its fabulous. See the ceiling medallion?  And the valance that my MIL made for me.

I couldn’t be happier.

Leave a Reply

