Le Rouge: In Progress

I’d like to preface this whole post by saying…I HATE TEXTURE PAINT!  It’s the worst possible idea.  Never paint anything with textured paint, unless its a rock.  If paint thinner and two steel wool pads make only a tiny dent in it…it’s a bad idea.  Here’s an hour ago:

DSC_0220

Ok so you can’t really see the texture…Here’s after an hours worth of scrubbing.

photo 5

photo 2

Blah.  Mr. Wonderful is right it really does look like a black widow, which is how I’m feeling about this thing right now.

But I did make some progress on recovering the candle shades.  Four are completed…I ran out of bias tape…

photo

I love the color…it’s a pink red.  Not a blue red or an orange red.  “A lipstick red.”  As I explained to Mr. Wonderful as he followed me around the fabric store.

On another note…my mother and sister introduced Little Miss Owl to movies.  Or moomies as she calls them.  It was a bad idea.  We have watched Ratatouille four times in the past two days.  However I decided to look in “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” by the one and only Julia Child…and lo and behold there’s a recipe for Ratatouille.  I decided that I was going to try it and came home with all the ingredients.

photo 3

Tad-da.  Right in the middle of that mess; eggplant, zucchini, tomatoes, onions, parsley…I think that’s it.  I’m so excited.

And then see that pile to the left?  Homemade laundry detergent! $30 and it lasts a year. That’s right.  A year.

photo 4

So all you have to do is grate the fels naptha soap with a cheese grater then mix everything together into a large container and you’re done!  It’s my second time making it and not only does it save a lot of money, it’s also free of perfumes and dyes.  Little Miss Owl has had problems with other detergents but this one has been perfect.

Laundry Soap (everything but the baking soda is found in the detergent aisle):

1 4 lb 12 oz box Borax

1 3lb 7 oz box Arm and Hammer super washing soda

1 3lb container of oxy clean

2 bars fels naptha or zote soap

1 55 oz bottle of purex crystals fabric softener

2 2lb boxes baking soda

 

Leave a Reply

