Painting

Over the last couple of weeks I’ve been working on an oil painting.  Nothing special, but it’s Urquart Castle on the banks of Loch Ness.  And as our anniversary draws near, it’s wonderful to look back on our honeymoon and remember all the little details about our trip.  Purchasing crackers and cheese and eating them on the banks of the Loch.

When you paint you obsess about color.  Is it the right shade or tone? Is the green too yellow or too blue?  Do the clouds need a bit more yellow or more blue?  Is the brown too red?  But what I realized was that after the second day of painting while driving to the grocery store I spent more time analyzing the color of the mountains and the sky, trying to parse out all of the individual colors that make up something that looks “white” or that looks “brown.”  In short…I took more notice.  And I took notice because I wanted to remember what a tree covered mountainside looks like through an overcast sky.  And Scotland is almost always overcast.

I have yet to come close to a decent representation of water.  It’s not blue. It’s clear with a small tint of green and blue and yellow…it’s glass.  But I have more appreciation for the beauty of water precisely because I cannot paint it.  Appreciation for the world around me because of the depth and scope of its range of colors.

Leave a Reply

